FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners: Top Scorers in Every Tournament

This is a list of all the Golden Boot winners in FIFA World Cup since 1930.

The FIFA World Cup is the pinnacle of international soccer. It’s a quadrennial tournament where national teams compete for the championship title.

The Golden Boot award recognizes the player with the most goals scored throughout the World Cup tournament. Hence, it’s a coveted honor, especially for strikers.

In this list, we’ll be going through the history of Golden Boot winners in every World Cup tournament.

So let’s get started.

If you want to read about the highest scorers in World Cup history, check out this post.

World Cup Golden Boot Winners by Tournament

Here’s the list of all World Cup Golden Boot winners.

World Cup EditionPlayerTeamGoals Scored
1930Guillermo StabileArgentina8
1934Oldrich NejedlyCzech Republic5
1954Sandor KocsisHungary11
1958Just FontaineFrance13
1962Florian Albert, Valentin Ivanov, Garrincha, Vava, Drazan Jerkovic, Leonel SanchezMultiple Countries4
1970Gerd MullerGermany 10
1974Grzegorz LatoPoland7
1978Mario KempesArgentina6
1982Paolo RossiItaly6
1986Gary LinekerEngland6
1990Salvatore SchillaciItaly6
1994Oleg Salenko, Hristo StoichkovRussia, Bulgaria6
1998Davor SukerCroatia6
2002Ronaldo NazarioBrazil8
2006Miroslav KloseGermany5
2010Thomas MullerGermany5
2014James RodríguezColombia6
2018Harry KaneEngland6
2022Kylian MbappeFrance8
FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners
  • Save

Interesting Facts and Stats About Golden Boot

No Player Has Won The Golden Boot Twice

Surprisingly, no player has ever won the Golden Boot twice. The competition is fierce, and the World Cup only happens every four years.

This makes it difficult for a single player to dominate across multiple tournaments.

Most Goals Scored in a Single World Cup Tournament

The record for most goals scored in a single tournament belongs to Just Fontaine of France. He netted an incredible 13 goals in 1958.

Embed from Getty Images

The 1950s and 60s saw some particularly high-scoring tournaments compared to the modern game.

Europe Dominates the Golden Boot Winners List

Europe dominates the Golden Boot winners’ list followed by South America.

No other continent has won the Golden Boot so far.

Golden Boot Does Not Guarantee the Team’s Success

Interestingly, only a handful of Golden Boot winners have been on the World Cup champion team in the same year.

Thank You For Reading

I hope you enjoyed reading the complete list of FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners. If you did, then do consider sharing it with fellow soccer enthusiasts.

Your support and sharing of this content can help us reach a wider audience. It can also provide valuable information to more people who share our passion for the beautiful game.

Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment below right now!

And thank you for supporting Soccer Mavericks!

Read more about the FIFA World Cup:

  • Save
Share via
Copy link